Congratulations Prize Winners!

Congratulations Prize Winners!

Wow. What an exciting weekend for Pop-Up Now. Opened the show on Wednesday to a super crowd of folks who came to Portland a day early to catch the show. Then lectured to 650 people on Thursday night about artist books, including many of the books from the show. Then, Friday morning, lecture and award ceremony at The Movable Book Society conference. Then, a TV crew filmed the show in the gallery on Friday afternoon (link soon, hopefully). Then, Friday evening reception for all of the fantastically fanatic conference attendees. Then, a book fair at the conference on Saturday. Whew, what a weekend. Needless to say I was glued to my couch all day on Sunday and now it's going to take a week to dig out from under the madness.

Congratulations to the following artists who received awards from our three marvelous jurors: Ellen Rubin, Larry Seidman and Jill Timm. I have to tell you that they had a very tough job. Deciding who got into the show was hard enough, but deciding the prize winners was even tougher. Our jurors puzzled over the books and negotiated into the wee hours on Wednesday night to come up with this list. Our undying gratitude again for their hard work. So, without further delay, here are the winners:

Best of Show, Unique (One-of-a-Kind) Book - Kevin Steele for The Movable Book of Letterforms

Best of Show, Editioned Book - Mary Jeanne Linford for Tool Box

Juror's Choice Award - Sue Collard for her Small Museum of Nature and Industry

Juror's Choice Award - Kitty Maryatt and Her Scripps College Press Students for Arch

Juror's Choice Award - Linda Johnson for Blessing Bowl

Gallery Choice Award - Elsi Vassdal Ellis for There Goes the Neighborhood

Kevin and Mary Jeanne both will receive a copy of The Movable Book Society's 10th Anniversary Special Limited Edition boxed set. (Thank you Larry Seidman and Ann Montenaro for donating these treasured prizes.) All award winners will receive a one-year membership to The Movable Book Society. Elsi also wins a solo show in the gallery sometime in 2011.

Congratulations again to everyone who is a part of this show. It really is a top-notch show and we are so honored to have your amazing work here at the gallery.